## Addendum 1: DAS Committee

Please refer to the DAS constitution (section 4.04).

The committee consists of several co-opted members in addition to executive officers.

Each co-opted member shall be appointed by the executive with the exception of the trainee representatives, who shall be elected by all members via AGM voting.

All positions will be for a 2-year period initially with the option of continuing for subsequent periods at the discretion of the executive. The exception is the trainee position, which will be for a fixed 2-year term.

The Scientific officer will coordinate the academic and research activities of the Society; will lead on DAS Professorships, PhDs, sponsorships and interaction with NIHR and NIAA.

The Newsletter Editors will be responsible for the publication of the DAS newsletter, which shall include reports from the majority of the committee members.

2 Trainee Representatives will be on the committee, each staggered by 1 year from the other. Trainees will require to be a minimum of 18 months from their CCT date to be eligible (and hence can continue 6 months post-CCT). Their role will largely relate to the development of educational material for the DAS website; addressing the needs of the RCOA curriculum in terms of airway management and providing a trainee perspective on matters arising within the committee.

The Website Lead will be responsible for the running of the DAS website and liaise with the committee with regards to its content and processes.

The Workshops Coordinator shall facilitate the running of national workshops requiring input or organisation by DAS and advise on educational matters. He or she will also act as a mentor to the Trainee Reps.

The Surveys Coordinator will be responsible for the initiation, organisation and completion of Society projects, having the ability to co-opt Full or Associate Members into agreed projects.

The Lay member will advise the committee on the public perspective with regards to matters arising within committee meetings.

All members of the committee will be UK & Ireland anaesthetists with the exception of the lay member and, at the discretion of the Executive, the Scientific Officer.