The DAS committee in 2009 decided to recognise and honour distinguished members of the society for their service to the society and airway management.

Twenty medals made of pure sterling silver were struck at jewellers in Chennai, India. The first set of medals had Sir William Macewen portrayed on one side and DAS logo on the reverse. 

Sir William Macewen

Sir William Macewen (1848 _ 1924) leading Scottish surgeon.

Celebrated for the first elective orotracheal intubation for anaesthesia on 5th July, 1878.

The DAS medal is a prestigious mark of excellence awarded to a member for contribution to the society and airway management

DAS medal1

DAS medal2

To see a list of all DAS medal recipients please follow this link